Is it really compost?

Mum came round last night to empty her compost caddy into our bin and because I’ve been away for a few days I’ve not been adding to it or monitoring it’s progress.  To be fair it has looked like the same pile of potato peelings, banana skins, ripped tea bags, grass cuttings and balls of newspaper for a few weeks now.  You can imagine how shocked I was to find this!

Compost Bin

As you can see in the pic I’ve thrown in a few extra scrumpled pieces of newspaper.  But overall I think I’m quite pleased with the way it’s all breaking down.  The smell is lovely and sweet.  Hard to explain, considering it’s rotting!

I just hope we get some half decent compost at the end.

I forgot to post a pic up yesterday of my herb pot, so I’ve just nipped out into the Garden Space and gone a little snap happy.

Herb Pot - 7-06-09

Cucumber - 7-06-09

Pea - 7-06-09

5 thoughts on “Is it really compost?

  1. Something I have learned is that every time you add to it, the composting process starts over and it won’t break down completely until you leave it alone for 1 week, then stir (aerate) and repeat, etc. Your compost bin is great. I need a few more around here and yours looks like the ticket. Good luck~ I can’t wait to see it all done and pretty!

  2. It’s great using all your leftover scraps to make something which isn’t only useable but also really good for your plants.
    Your herbs are looking good.

  3. Good info.. I find it pretty easy to compost once you are in the mindset that a lot of the fruit and vegetables you discard could easily be added to a compost box.

    I created my compost bin from discarded 3×3 pallets. They worked out pretty well.

    If anyone is interested, I added the steps and pictures of the process.
    http://gravitygarden.com/bucketgarden/?p=552

    Happy Composting!

Leave a Reply

